Land Acknowledgement

The Department of Anthropology acknowledges that the University of Wisconsin-Madison occupies the ancestral lands of the Ho-Chunk, a place their nation has called Teejop since time immemorial.

In an 1832 treaty, the Ho-Chunk were forced to cede this territory.

Decades of ethnic cleansing followed when both the federal and state government repeatedly, but unsuccessfully, sought to forcibly remove the Ho-Chunk from Wisconsin. We commemorate the resiliency of the Ho-Chunk and other eleven First Nations of Wisconsin.

This history of colonization informs our shared future of collaboration and innovation.

Today, we respect the inherent sovereignty of the Ho-Chunk Nation, along with the eleven other First Nations of Wisconsin. For more information on the First Nations of Wisconsin, we encourage you to visit their web sites.

Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Brothertown Indian Nation

Forest County Potawatomi Community

Ho-Chunk Nation

Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians

Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians

Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin

Oneida Tribe of Indians of Wisconsin

Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians

Sokaogon Chippewa Community­­­

St. Croix Chippewa Community

Stockbridge Munsee Band of Mohican Indians